+ 86-28-85552138
Tibet Vista Travel
Home>Tibet Travel Guide>Shannan Travel Guide>Lhokha Maps and Prefecture

Lhokha Maps and Prefecture

Lhokha Prefecture located in southern Tibet lies to the south of Mt. Kailash and the Nyainqentanglha Mountains, along the middle and lower reaches of the Yarlung Tsangpo River. Lhokha Prefecture, known as the birthplace of the Tibetan people, has an average altitude of about 3700m and covers an area of about 80,000 square kilometers divided into 13 counties.
The political, cultural and economical center of Lhokha prefecture is in Tsetang town of Naidong County. Tsedang sits on the south bank of the middle reach of Yarlung Tsangpo River and enjoys a moderate climate at an altitude of 3,600 meters.

  • Tsedang

    Tsedang, reputed as the cradle of Tibetan Civilization, is home to many ancient ruins, including Samye Monastery, Yumbu Lhakang Palace, burial site for Tsampos and Tranduk Monastery.

    View Details
  • Zhanang County

    Zhanang in Lhokha Prefecture of Tibet id home to the famous Ningmapa monastery, Samye, the well-known Mindroling Monastery, etc.

    View Details
  • Gonggar County

    Gonggar County located in southern Tibet is where the Gonggar airport was built and has famous tourist sights, including Yamdrok Lake, Dorje Monastery and so forth.

    View Details
  • Nagarze County

    Nagarze (also Ngarzhag) is a county of Lhokha prefecture in Tibet. In this county, there are the holy lake Yamdrok and Samding Monastery on the southwest shore of Yamdrok.

    View Details

Have a Question? Ask below or call +86 28 85552138

Question Summary*



Please fill in your contact information, we will send you the answer by email


0 Comment ON "Lhokha Maps and Prefecture"

Check All Tibet Travel FAQs Here